15 States Attract No Investments In Six Months


Between January and June this year, 15 state governments could not attract any form of fresh investments to their states, an analysis of a report by the National Bureau of Statistics has revealed. The NBS’s capital importation report contains the total amount of fresh investments attracted to the Nigerian economy during the period of time.

In the report, which was obtained by our correspondent in Abuja, the NBS revealed that none of the 15 states contributed to the entire $14.31bn which the federation attracted during the first half of this year.

The states that could not attract any form of investment inflow are Abia, Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Ekiti, Gombe, Jigawa and Enugu. Others listed in the report are Kebbi, Kogi Osun, Plateau, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe and Zamfara.

Based on the analysis of the NBS report, about 20 state governments and the Federal Capital Territory were able to secure fresh investments inflow into their states within the period under review.

The states that got new investments included Lagos State, which attracted the highest amount of $8.9bn during the six-month period. The $8.9bn investment inflow into Lagos State represents about 62.19 per cent of the $14.31bn. Lagos is followed by the Federal Capital Territory which attracted a total investment inflow of $5.25bn.

- Advertisement -First Bank mobile money